top of page

Grandma, Grandpa and M&M's

M&M’s make me think of my grandparents.


They make me think of my grandma because I would always munch on them at sleepovers.


She always gave me a bagful for the bus rides at my away games (they were the kind of grandparents that even came to away games).


Grandma had a crystal jar full of M&M’s and every time I snuck a handful, the top was as tinkly as it was sparkly. She would call from the kitchen, “Don’t spoil your dinner!”


Her kitchen was rooster themed. It usually smelled like oregano because she always made spaghetti and meatballs, my favorite.


M&M’s are also Grandpa’s favorite. I always gave him the blue ones.


I remember walking through a park with him, it must have been at one of my sister’s softball tournaments. Grandpa bought me a bag of M&M’s and a Poland Spring to share as we walked under summer trees.

“There’s nothing like chocolate and water,” he said. That stuck with me.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Roots

bottom of page